The Steadings at the Grouse & Trout

History

The Stag stands in the car park of the Steadings HotelThe present property was built in 1860 as the out buildings once part of the original Flichity Inn, which was destroyed in 1964.

The property stood derelict for some time and was purchased by John Trotter of Achneim in the early eighties and called ‘The Grouse & Trout’ and has now been tastefully converted to provide quality accommodation and dinning in a relaxed atmosphere. Much care was taken to preserve the old stonework and timber beams, giving a sense of unhurried charm and traditional workmanship. Furnished throughout to compliment the age and history of the unique building and location.

 Some years later it was acquired by the MacGillivray family and owned by them until 2004. The MacGillivray family have lived in the Strath since before the battle of Culloden it was during their ownership that the name was changed to ‘The Steadings Hotel’

‘The Stag on the Stone’ sited in the grounds was put there in 2003 to celebrate the continuity and connection this ancient and proud clan has had with the area of Strathnairn for many centuries. The stag symbolizes the strength of the kinship shared by those who bear the name throughout the world. Donated to the Clan MacGillivray International Association by the family of the late Ronald MacGillivray of Boleskine 1934-2002.

 The property purchased in 2005 is now owned and run by David and Mary Allen.

You may be interested in an account of the battle of Culloden...

Clach An Airm - Culloden an historical account